Ellada I am Here!

After weeks upon weeks of running around and preparing all my paper work to come to Greece; 15 hours later, 3 suitcases and mind-set ready to start a new chapter in my life, I am finally here! Since I am Greek, I have been to Greece before, but only in the summer time, I had no idea what to expect in Athens during the winter. I left Chicago with almost 15 inches of snow to a location where the temperature is in the mid-50’s and 60’s. It’s extremely weird for me to be walking around in the streets of Athens in a light jacket; I have never even worn a sweater here before!

Aghia Paraskevi is a beautiful suburban area in Athens. It’s very green and the atmosphere is very soothing to the eye.

My roommates are awesome! We are a match made in heaven, we get along really well and are different enough where we can each learn from each other and feed off of each other’s different passions. Since my roommates are not very familiar with Greece or this culture, I am making it my goal this trip to immerse them in the rich culture that Greece provides through its beauty, language, food, religion and people. I am so proud to be Greek and I want them to be able to feel and see why I love Greece and this culture so much. Here, they live a different lifestyle, which is slow-paced and appreciative of every minute- living like there is no tomorrow. It’s hard to teach culture, it’s something that needs to be experienced and pulled out from within a person through weeks and weeks of being here. I truly believe that my culture will not only deeply influence others but I will become even more aware of who I am, where I come from and how much it means to me.

First day arriving in Athens, my roommates and I went and got the Greek Version of an American hamburger. Pitas Gyro! Pitas are one of the most popular go-to foods for a quick and tasty meal! A Pita consists of either a souvlaki (pork pieces) or gyros, garnished along with tomatoes, onions, french fries and to top it off tzatziki (greek yogurt, garlic and cucumbers!! Yummy! 🙂

My roomies and I all went and got Greek cell phone numbers!!! Vodafone! 🙂

My roomie and I on her first metro ride to downtown, Athens! The metro is so beautiful here, it is extremely clean and accessible to every destination. We went to Monastiraki, shopped, ate and of course, ended our day with a frappe! I am loving Greece so much. I can’t wait to keep sharing my adventures with you all, and I hope that you can see me grow as I already felt I have!

Until next time……. Tha ta ksanapoume! (We will talk again)

xo xo -Κατερινα

8 Comments

Filed under Catherine Grosso, Student Blogs

8 responses to “Ellada I am Here!

  1. kate

    I love your enthusiasm for Greece. I can tell you and your roommates are already embracing this experience.

  2. valerie

    I’m so glad you are here and are having a great time! Go, go, go!

  3. Maria Karamitsos

    Katerina mou – I’m so glad you’re having a great time. This is such an awesome experience. I am so happy for you that you are there and have this opportunity. We’re looking forward to your updates. Be well. We love you!

  4. Κατερίνα (you can tell that you have immersed into Greece, no more Catherine), we are glad that things are going well in Greece and having a good time. You can be our tour guide in Athens this summer.
    The preparations for the trip to Chios have started which will include also a stop in Athens for a performance at the Deree college. We will see you then or hopefully earlier. In the meantime enjoy life in Athens, you are lucky to have this opportunity and make sure you take full advantage of it!

  5. Mom and Dad

    Dear Κατερίνα,
    Two weeks already !!!!! We am so happy for you. Enjoy every day, moment and second in Greece. You have worked hard for this experience. I know you will make us all proud. I know you are in good hands and an opportunity that will be with you forever.. Dad and I are very proud….

    xoxoxoxox

  6. Stephanie Taylor

    Wow, Catherine this trip sounds like you’re off to a great start! Glad you’re having fun so far, I’ll stay tuned for your updates!

  7. George&Donna Chandler

    Catherine, Great Blog, So happy to hear from you. Good luck with your schooling and sounds like you have meet very nice friends. The best to you, George&Donna Chandler

  8. Katerina Economou

    I’m glad you’re having such a great time! Can’t wait to see you this summer!

Leave a Reply

